#41: Play in a pickup game

Now, when I originally added this one to my list, I imagined joining in on a game of basketball, or touch football on the beach. But oh no… not in Lizzy-world. There had to be something even MORE epic…. I participated in a pick up game of….

Wait for it……

CATCHPHRASE!!!!

Catchprase Electronic

Ummm, I know what you’re thinking…

1. How the HELL does one play a pickup game of catchphrase? and…

2. How awesome is that?!?!

Well I’ll tell you…..

This past weekend I decided on a whim to take a trip with Man X.1 and his family down to Ensenada. Naturally, being the game aficionado that I am, I always carry Catchphrase with me, and this was noooo exception. Since I rock at the game, I brought it…. CP is always a good way to break the ice. And *sidenote*, I got the ladies to participate in a 4 way, across the table, group high five, and yes, it was as epically awesome as it sounds…. *end sidenote*. ANYWAYS…. since Man X.1 and I were running late due to a failed attempt at a B&E on my storage unit, we waited around for awhile on the street corner in PB, and decided to get some fun *ahem, practice* in for CP. His roomie James joined us, and the 3 of us passed it around for a few minutes. A jeep rolled up, parked, and one of the guys in the jeep actually gets out and says: “are you guys playing Catchphrase on a corner??” to which I respond “Of course!! Want to join?”

And the epic part is he says “sure, why the hell not?!” So he walks up and is joined by his other 2 friends, then a girl who lives in James’ apartment complex and the 7 of us stand around, on a street corner, and play a pickup game of CP for a good 15-20 minutes or so. How freakin awesome.com is that?????? Wow, one of the funnest random game moments of my life. So there it is, #41, playing in a pickup game, fulfilled in a completely unexpected way.

I guess that’s kinda what I like about the list… I have these things that I want to accomplish, but beyond that, it’s the experience that I look forward to and will remember… and how it never quite happened the way I thought, but I wouldn’t want it any other way than how it happened.

Leave a Reply

