Hat Party

Now, this is not an ordinary themed party where all attendees where hats, although that does sound kinda fun… This hat party is for my Mom, who as you all know is undergoing chemo therapy for lung cancer. She began to lose her hair about a week ago and got a super cute edgy haircut shown here:

But eventually, she will lose all her hair so some of her friends at Church have decided to throw her a “hat party”. I found this description online:

What is a hat party?

A hat party is an event that is sometimes organized for individuals who are experiencing hair loss due to medical treatments such as chemotherapy.  Friends and family get together for moral support.  Each one presents the patient with a unique hat, turban, scarf or accessory.  It is a joyful experience that often brings much relief and comfort to the patient.  It is a way for friends and family to show support and love in a difficult situation.  A hat makes a perfect, thoughtful and practical gift.  Our gift registry can help with the organization of these important events.

This is the first time I’ve ever personally had to deal with something life this, so I’m not even sure what to get her, and I’m her daughter! I’ve asked my closest friends to come and support me and my Mama through this extremely difficult time, and wanted to let you all know, if you wanted to get something for her, this is what it’s for.

http://www.headcovers.com/ has a great selection of covers, and ideas for what women going through a hair loss treatment could use to manage. I personally started wearing scarves on my head in honor of my Mama, and so when it’s her turn, I can help her style it 😉 Thank you to everyone out there who are helping support me through all of this, I truly love you!

Remember, the Hat Party is scheduled for Monday, July 5th, 2010 at 6:30pm *new date and time: Saturday, July 17th, 2010 at 2:00pm* at Pathways Community Church.

Map:

One response »

  1. Thanks for that link, very helpful! I’ll see you on Saturday. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

