Top 5 best TV characters EVER

1. Barney Stinson:

Easily the funniest character on TV right now, and arguably in TV history, NPH brings this character to life. I’ve laughed so hard I’ve cried watching Barney. He plays laser-tag, and has the best explanations of relationships and women, and sometimes life too. Some examples of this are: *Lemon law for dating *The Bro Code *The Play Book *The crazy hot scale and many many more. It would take waaay too long to put all of his awesomeness into words here, so if you want to know, I BEG you, watch the show.

His catchphrases translate into real life, and personally, I use them all the time. I even did this:

 

 

 

And if you had to ask why he’s awesome… in his own words… “haha, please.”

2. Ben Linus/Henry Gale:

  • TV Show: LOST
  • Played by: Michael Emerson
  • Catchphrase: Something about Jacob said with his big creepy eyes

When this character first emerged in One of Them, I went back and forth so many time debating if I believed his story or not, eventually I did. The way Michael Emerson played that character, such conviction. I don’t think there is a better dramatic actor our there. Ever. You know, originally, his part was only supposed to be a multi-episode story arch, but the response from the viewers toward him was so great, that they kept him on the rest of the season, and the season after made him a starring character, which if you are a LOSTIE, you know lasted until the end of the season.

Ben has such weird mannerisms… the way he says “Jacob” with fear… and when he gives his speeches, he is simply extraordinary. But the thing I love most about Ben is his ambiguity… he fits perfectly the model of “relativism”. You never know if what he is doing is good or bad. That’s the point. A lot of times, we think he is bad, but then it turns out he had a good motive for what he did, which makes it good. He is able to swing morality whichever way he wants, he controls the picture. He was written by the producers to be the “Big Bad”, but he was able to humanize his evil character in such a way that he became many people’s favorite character. Especially as Locke went more and more down the crazy path.

Originally I had Desmond Hume in the #2 spot, but after careful consideration, and no matter how much I love Desmond, all I have to do is go back and think about Henry Gale, and that’s what makes him the best. It was one hell of a journey from watching Sayid torture him, to finding out he was indeed lying, to what he did to the kidnapped 4… then watching his backstory during Season Others, and see, well maybe there is a soft side to him and he isn’t pure evil. THEN finding out the reasons why he is the way he is IS because of the Losties (Jack especially)… But no matter how much you started to see him as a good guy, he always did something dark. Dark, but necessary, at least in his mind.

 

3. Buffy Summers:

  • TV Show: Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Played by: Sarah Michelle Gellar
  • Catchphrase: Something dark said in an upbeat tone with a high sense of sarcasm.

“That.. probably would have sounded more commanding if I wasn’t wearing my Yummy Sushi pajamas.”

“Buffy: Ever heard the expression ‘slayer’?
Vampire: [confused look]
Buffy: Okay..how about ‘Ow my knee, my knee’?
Vampire: [confused look once again before jumping on Buffy]
Buffy: [kicks vampire in the kneecap]
Vampire: Ow my knee, my knee!!”

She was hot, young, and kicked MAJOR ass as the Slayer. She was funny, sarcastic, and was friends with the geekiest of geeks. Buffy was one of my favorite TV shows because it was not only entertaining, but it was smart and well written. Each episode was layered togo beyond the monsters and high school drama into something deep that actually connected to people. I couldn’t imagine any other actress playing Buffy (even the one who played her in the movie). And she had an awesome sense of style, even while butt-kicking. Buffy went through so many different emotional phases of her life and really grew as the show progressed, which is something many actresses can’t do and it made her character totally relatable to young females. She was sometimes dark, and sometimes let it show. Plus she ultimately beat Faith, who gave Buffy a run for her money with badassness.

4. The cast of Arrested Development:

Since every single person in this show was amazing, and collectively they would take up all the top 10 spots, so I will just cheat and put them all here. If you’ve never watched this show, please get the hell off my blog and don’t come back until you do. You’re life is not complete yet.

Main Cast (in order of my faves):

  • Michael Bluth: “You said Arizona again.” “You can’t do that on the balcony, buddy?” “You baited the balcony?”
  • Gob (George Oscar Bluth, Jr.): “I’ve made a huge mistake.” “Illusion, Michael. A trick is something a whore does for money…”
  • Tobias Funke: “I’m afraid I just blue myself.” “Time for me to take off my receptionist skirt and put on my Barbara Streisand in the Prince Of Tides ass-masking therapist pantsuit.”
  • Buster Bluth: “Heeeeeeeeeey Brother.” “But it walked on my pillow!” “Like anyone would want to R her.”
  • Lucille Bluth: “I love all my children equally. [earlier that day] I don’t care for Gob.” “Buster! Stop playing with Mother’s rape horn Yes, I have a rape horn, Michael, because you took away my mace.”

Honorable Mentions:

  • Ann Veal: who? her? mayanegg
  • Steve Holt: (Steve Holt!)

Favorite Moments:

 

 

 

5. Jim/Dwight rivalry

  • TV Show: The Office
  • Played by: John Krasinski and Rainn Wilson

Watch. Enough said.

 

2 responses »

  1. i hate barney

    Reply

Leave a Reply

