And the Nominees are…

Well folks, it’s almost that time of year… not Christmas, not New Years, but the time where we all reflect back on 2010 and make a resolution for 2011 that we won’t keep.

I don’t even remember what my resolution was for this year… maybe work out more? Who knows, NYE was a pretty drunk and hazy FUN time. But regardless, I still love getting sentimental and thinking of all the things I’ve been through, seen and experienced these past 365 days (almost) and think about what I can do to improve myself for next year.

I guess the truth of the matter is, making a resolution doesn’t help. If we could better our lives or change aspects of our personality with one promise to ourselves declared one day a year, then we’d all be pretty fabulous people. And we aren’t. Sorry. I think at this point its more of a tradition then something any of us actually take seriously or care about. It’s a question that we are expecting to be asked, and we’d better come up with an answer. Some of us decide to make it serious (lose 150 pounds), some decide to make it funny (sleep with 6 countries of women), others sentimental (reconnect with my husband). Yet, we all come up with an answer. Even “no resolution” is a statement. In fact, now that I think about it, I think last year I came up with some babble about living in modesty: exercise in modesty, drinking in modesty, sex in modesty… you get the idea. My belief was (still is) why should be make a drastic change to ourselves or our lifestyle when I honestly believe we should do a little bit of everything, and give up nothing. Well I can tell you that idea got me into a lot of trouble in 2010.

Although few can say that I lived modestly… I partied WAY too much this year, so much so that my last relationship revolved around who I was as a drunk, and not who I actually was in real life. And once I got pregnant, the real me came out, and well if you know me, you know she’s not NEARLY as fun as drunk Lizzy. I mean, I’m a pretty fun girl, a little crazy, a little sporadic and spontaneous, but overall I’m probably about a 70/30 mix: 70% chill, 30% crazy fun. Well drunk me is more like 20/80: 20% chill, and 80% crazy drunk fun. And that personality is addicting, I will tell you. Having a million friends, someone to party with every night of the week, having crazy stories to tell and funny pictures to look at… It’s the life right? I used to think so, but getting pregnant changed my perspective (I hear it’s known to do that…) and now I appreciate the calm life. What I love the most about forced sobriety is the clarification it has brought to me. But that’s for another blog…

THIS blog is to focus on what I want to change for next year. 2011 will be a year of re-birth (figuratively and literally haha). My Mom recovering from lung cancer after a miracle diagnosis, the birth of my daughter Sophie, the start of law school again, moving into my own place for the first time in my life…  So I will list some resolutions I am considering and let you dear readers pick which one you think is best for me… So at last, the nominees are:

1. Grow my hair out and DON’T cut it.

2. Start being on time.

3. Stop biting my nails.

4. Promise to do one thing from my list a month.

5. Learn to cook.

6. Learn to use my sewing machine.

7. Go back to being a Vegetarian.

8. Find that someone special.

9. Answer all phone calls from friends.

10. Move to North Carolina.

 

So there they are! My Top 10 resolution choices for 2011… Please vote in the comments section, and I will tally them up at the end of the year and make a decision 😀

6 responses »

  1. Well, being as we (the blokes) did the facial hair growing, I’m thinking you should do the hair growing (without cutting) for sure!

    Reply
    • It’s SO tough for me though!!! It’s in the awkward phase right now :/ But I want to have long hair SO bad… so you may be on to something… Plus I love changing up my hairstyle, so maybe I’ll play around with colors.

      Reply
  2. Do them ALL, except find that someone special. Let that someone special find you. Sometimes its best not to try hard to get something and it will just come to you, besides that this resolution is the only one on your list that you are not totally in control of. The others are great so so them all.

    Reply
    • Thanks grandpa! Good advice. So far I’m not doing good on not cutting my hair (I cut it) and being on time. Nor have I gone back to being a vegetarian. Or cooking… I have’t bitten my nails in awhile though!

      Reply
  3. Perhaps your new year’s resolution should have been – discipline myself to follow through on the goals I set. (LOL) From my perspective your only resolution for this year and forward must be to produce a healthy child and do everything in your power to keep it happy and healthy. A daddy some day would be nice, but like I said earlier – that will come eventually. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. LOL!!! Maybe you’re right! But I do agree that my resolution this year is all for Sophie. A daddy some day WOULD be nice! For now I have really amazing friends and family, and she has an awesome god-father who I know couldn’t do much better than if he was her biological father. Thank you for all your well wishes!!! It means a lot to me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

