#6: Take a Yoga Class

I’ve always wanted to try yoga, but was afraid I would be bad at it, or not earthy or hippy enough for it. However, being a 24 Hour member has it’s perks in that they offer free yoga classes at every location multiple days/times of the week… so basically they leave you NO excuse to not try it. And since I’m pregnant, and hugely so, I have been hindered from doing my regular exercise routine that I came to adore and enjoy (surprisingly). I figured this way I get the best of both worlds: I still get to exercise, and I get to cross something off my list! Plus, I hear the breathing exercises are good for “labor”… although I’m convinced my labor is going to be very fast and easy (as was the same way she was conceived. Hiyo!!) Anyways, after a phone call to 24 Hour to confirm that huge pregnant ladies can participate safely in the class (we can), I was out of excuses and decided it was time to go. The class I went to is held on Tuesday and Thursday nights at the 24 Hour in Santee at 7:30pm. Even though the first night I went I was extremely tired and sleepy, I forced myself to go anyways. And I was glad I did. Yoga isn’t difficult, at least for me. Before and after every workout session I was stretching vigorously. And the yoga class I participated in was a lot of stretching. And balancing. Most of my workout routine also happened to include balancing as I would do all my arm/shoulder workouts on a BOSU ball. And I was in dance all through high school and college. Turns out my past is actually very well suited to yoga. The only trouble I had was the actual muscle building parts, since I hadn’t worked out in awhile, holding a squat pose proved difficult. I do quite enjoy yoga now, all the breathing and stretching and laying down. It was the most calming workout/exercise experience I have ever had and I plan to continue to participate in yoga for a very long time to come. Bravo 24 Hour for offering these classes!

Leave a Reply

